5 Common UX Portfolio Mistakes You Might Still Be Making

Are you confident you’re not falling into any of these traps?

Ilma Andrade
4 min readSep 22, 2024

Today, I’m going to walk you through five common mistakes that I’ve encountered from my own experience in building a UX portfolio. While this isn’t a universal guide, experimenting with these tips could significantly enhance your portfolio and help you stand out.

Here are the most common 5 mistakes I still see around on the internet.

1. Not Displaying Projects Related to Your Target Companies

One of the biggest mistakes is failing to showcase projects that align with the type of companies you want to work for. It’s important to focus your portfolio on projects within your target niche and ensure the methodologies you apply match the business type.

Early in my career, I didn’t focus on this. I picked easy projects and didn’t consider how they’d fit into my long-term goals. As a result, when I started applying for jobs, only companies that aligned with the industries in my portfolio showed interest.

Don’t make the same mistake. Tailor your projects to the types of employers you want to attract. Clients want to see relevant experience, and you’ll have a higher chance of getting hired…

--

--